Course Reflection

As the semester draws to a close, I would like to look back at what this semester brought in New Media Communication. This class to me was about the uses of social media and how to use it to help your business. Along with the benefits, we also learned how social media can also hurt your business. With the uses of platforms such as Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and Pinterest, we looked at how business used them to help and/or hinder their business.

I previously knew social media could hurt your image, but as we looked at how companies dealt with their social media problem, I did not know how much work went into repairing their image. When Delta Flights had their problem we looked at how they used social media to handle their situation and how they did not utilize their social media correctly. Seeing as I am looking into going into the field of public relations, I will continue to look into social media and the benefits of it if used correctly.

download

This summer I will be interning at the Ed Block Courage Foundation and will be working with their social media. With this class, I have a closer understanding as to what is on the line with the smallest error in the post I put out to the world. Not that I do not understand the repercussions of things as such on social media, but there is a difference between a personal account and an account for an organization. After this class, I will triple check any post I send out to not put the foundation in an unfavorable situation.

Leave a Reply

